Skip to content

Free source ethnography

June 14, 2011

In a strange development, I’m the subject of someone’s PhD dissertation.

Well, not exactly. Giacomo Poderi is an Italian writing his PhD on the role of users in the development of Free/Libre Open Source Software (FLOSS), taking an ethnographic approach, and using as a case study The Battle for Wesnoth, one of the most successful FLOSS games out there. As it so happens, I contributed to the Wesnoth project for over five years (2004-2009), so he’s interviewing me by email about my experiences with the project. It’s been a fun process so far (I’ve written maybe 3000 words in answer to his questions over the last two days), and will with any luck continue to be so for the remainder of the interview.

I’m not going to post my interview here (I don’t even know if I’m allowed to do that), but I think I’ll find it interesting to look back and consider some of what happened with more of an objective eye, and I might draw out of it a few posts about the nature of the creative process, creative collaboration, and FLOSS game development generally.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 6:29 pm

    That is cool, Josephus.

Leave a Reply

